Skip to main content
February 18, 2018

Governors form 10-member committee for national dialogue

Council of Governors chair Josephat Nanok addressing journalists. /EZEKIEL AMING'A
Council of Governors chair Josephat Nanok addressing journalists. /EZEKIEL AMING'A

The Council of Governors has formed a 10-member committee on national reconciliation, dialogue and healing.

It will be spearheaded the chair Josphat Nanok and seeks to quell political temperatures following the October 26 repeat presidential election.

"As Governors, our position is that Kenya must remain united and cohesive for this and future generations. We want peace, unity and cohesion. We will not stand by as the country gets torn apart by ethnicity and tribal politics," CoG tweeted on their official account.

The other members of the committee are governors Kiraitu Murungi (Meru), Salim Mvurya, Kivutha Kibwana (Makueni), Wycliffe Oparanya (Kakamega), and Joyce Laboso(Bomet).

Others are Jackson Mandago (Uasin Gishu), Charity Ngilu (Kitui), Francis Kimemia (Nyandarua) and Cornel Rasanga (Siaya).

"There is need for us Governors to apply ourselves as instruments of peace in the country in light of the prevailing political circumstances. We are leaders," the council said.

The county bosses further forged to work together in development, complementing each other and forming of economic blocks irrespective of their political affiliations.

There is concern following plans by NASA to swear in their leader Raila Odinga as president next Tuesday.

AG Githu Muigai has already warned the Opposition leader against it, terming it treason.

Read: 'Constitution my foot': Raila asks US to stop interfering with Kenya's affairs

Click here for the latest political news

  • Thank you for participating in discussions on The Star, Kenya website. You are welcome to comment and debate issues, however take note that:
  • Comments that are abusive; defamatory; obscene; promote or incite violence, terrorism, illegal acts, hate speech, or hatred on the grounds of race, ethnicity, cultural identity, religious belief, disability, gender, identity or sexual orientation, or are otherwise objectionable in the Star’s  reasonable discretion shall not be tolerated and will be deleted.
  • Comments that contain unwarranted personal abuse will be deleted.
  • Strong personal criticism is acceptable if justified by facts and arguments.
  • Deviation from points of discussion may lead to deletion of comments.
  • Failure to adhere to this policy and guidelines may lead to blocking of offending users. Our moderator’s decision to block offending users is final.
Poll of the day