Skip to main content
January 18, 2019

Odumbe picks 15-man squad ahead of Zimbabwe tour

Irfan Karim of Kenya and Anshuman Rath of Hongkong(Red) in action at Nairobi Gymkana.PHOTO/COURTESY
Irfan Karim of Kenya and Anshuman Rath of Hongkong(Red) in action at Nairobi Gymkana.PHOTO/COURTESY
Kenya have named an experienced 15-man squad for this week’s Twenty20 tourney in Harare, Zimbabwe. The U19 batsman Thomas K’Ochieng is the only surprise inclusion in Maurice Odumbe’s maiden squad as the head coach.
The 15-man squad that will play Zimbabwe Select and Board XI has three changes from the 2018 ICC World Cricket League Division 2 side with K’Ochieng, Eugene Ochieng and Peter Lagat replacing Irfan Karim, Hiren Varaiya and Karan Kaul. The status quo in the team comes as a suerprise to cricket enthusiasts with Odumbe having promised rings changes after his appointment. Odumbe had promised to bring back batsman Tanmay Mishra, bowler Elijah Otieno and include a number of youthful players from the U-19 team. Kenyans will be using the Harare tour to prepare for next month’s East Africa Twenty20 Qualifiers in Rwanda.
The coach, however, attributed his inability to blood the team lack of new players coming through the ranks with a few others having personal commitments.
“It’s alarming that we still don’t have players who can fight for places in this team. With little pool of players, I find it hard to make changes henceI have no option but to do with what I have,” Odumbe said. K’Ochieng was part Kenya U-19 team that played in the Cricket World Cup in New Zealand early this year.
During the event, he was second best batsman with 126 runs from six innings. Ochieng and Otieno makes a comeback after being sidelined last year over Cricket Kenya contract issues. On their part, Zimbabwe Cricket have named two 15-man squads for the event.
Squad: Shem Obado (Capt), Rakep Patel, Collins Obuya, Dhiren Gondaria, Nelson Odhiambo, Nehemiah Odhiambo, Gurdeep Singh, Lucas Oluoch, Alex Obanda, Peter Lagat, Eugene Ochieng, Emmanuel Bundi, Pushpak Kerai, Rushab Patel and Thomas K’Ochieng.
Poll of the day