Skip to main content
January 21, 2019

Segor, Machage in Uhuru list as more PSs, envoys named

President Uhuru Kenyatta./FILE
President Uhuru Kenyatta./FILE

President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated six PSs.

They include Harry Kimutai (Livestock), Jerome Ochieng (ICT), Susan Komen (EAC), Fred Sigor (Irrigation), John Omenge (Mining) and Alfred Cheruiyot (Correctional Services).

Uhuru yesterday said he sent the names to the National Assembly for vetting.

The President also appointed Hassan Noor and John Musonik as Chief Administrative Secretaries.

Noor will be the CAS for the sports docket while Musonik will be at the Petroleum and Mining docket.

Mohamed Elmi was also appointed to the Environment docket headed by Keriako Tobiko. The President created the position of CAS across all the 22 Cabinet posts.

He said holders of the new positions will be responsible for helping the cabinet secretaries coordinate the running of ministry affairs.

The newly appointed Secretaries will not be vetted.

Uhuru also nominated ambassadors which include; Richard Titus Ekai, John Okuna Ogango and Migori senator Wilfred Kisuka Machage. He did not specify where they will be located.

Last month, Uhuru unveiled his new Cabinet which had several entrants of election losers, and women. On March 3, Uhuru issued a stern warning to newly appointed PSs and Chief Administrative Secretaries. He said they will be held responsible for any misuse of public resources.

After witnessing the swearing-in of the top government officials at State House, Nairobi, the President said he will expect the highest standards of integrity.

“My decision today that the oath of office you have taken be accompanied by an Integrity and ethics code, both signed in public, is my demonstration of this commitment,” the President told them. He warned, “I want to repeat: No one will be spared if caught engaging in corruption.”

Poll of the day