Skip to main content
October 22, 2017

61 out of 85 MCAs lose, JP wins majority, easy time for Sonko

A voter casts her ballot at the Milimani Primary School polling station on Tuesday /COLLINS KWEYU
A voter casts her ballot at the Milimani Primary School polling station on Tuesday /COLLINS KWEYU

Nairobi assembly majority chief whip Jaffer Kassam and his minority counterpart Hashim Kamau are among the 61 MCAs sent home in the Tuesday’s election.

Only 24 of the 85 ward representatives retained their seats. But the results show Jubilee’s Mike Sonko, who won the governor seat, will have an easy time implementing his policies after his party won the majority of seats.

According to the results declared by the IEBC on Thursday, Jubilee has scooped 45 seats compared to NASA’s 39. Makina ward seat in Kibra, was won by PDU candidate Solomon Magembe.

ODM clinched 38 seats while Kalonzo Musyoka’s Wiper won one. In 2013, the then Cord had a majority of seats in the assembly – 43 MCAs against Jubilee’s 42.

In the Tuesday’s election, Jubilee wrestled Nairobi South, Eastleigh South and Parklands wards from the opposition.

Among the sitting MCAs who lost are Peter Isuha (Kangemi), Martin Karanja from Mutuini, Ngaruiya Chege, who was also the minority chief whip (Kahawa West), Karura’s  Kamau Thuo and Pius Otieno (Sarang’ombe).

Others are Daniel Mari from Ruai ward, Wilson Ochola (Utalii), Mathare North’s Oscar Lore, Daniel Odhiambo (Dandora IV), Peter Gichohi from Kayole North, Jairo Atenya (Imara Daima) and Utawala’s Joash Omwenga.

Also in the list of losers are Benson Amutavi of Upper Savannah ward, Jackson Gikandi (Kayole Central), Julius Mwaniki (Nairobi Central), Peter Oluoch of Huruma, Andrew Macharia (Mlango Kubwa) and Hospital’s George Ochola.

Those who retained their seats are majority leader Elias Okumu of Kileleshwa), minority leader Abdi Guyo, Robert Mbatia of Kariobangi South, Michael Ogada (Embakasi), Kitusuru’s Alvin Olando and David Mberia (Karen). Former city mayor Godfrey Majiwa won Baba Dogo MCA seat on ODM.

The number of elected women in the county assembly increased to five from four in 2013. Millicent Wangui of Ziwani ward, Elizabeth Manyala (Kayole South), Mountain View’s Beatrice Kwamboka and Daina Kapeen (South C) were elected in 2013.

New women MCAs are Patricia Mutheu of Mlango Kubwa ward, Esther Wathira (Nairobi South), Cecilia Ogot (Laini Saba) and Kware’s Rose Ogonda. According to IEBC results, only Wangui retained her seat. Kapeen and Manyala unsuccessfully defended their seats.



  • Thank you for participating in discussions on The Star, Kenya website. You are welcome to comment and debate issues, however take note that:
  • Comments that are abusive; defamatory; obscene; promote or incite violence, terrorism, illegal acts, hate speech, or hatred on the grounds of race, ethnicity, cultural identity, religious belief, disability, gender, identity or sexual orientation, or are otherwise objectionable in the Star’s  reasonable discretion shall not be tolerated and will be deleted.
  • Comments that contain unwarranted personal abuse will be deleted.
  • Strong personal criticism is acceptable if justified by facts and arguments.
  • Deviation from points of discussion may lead to deletion of comments.
  • Failure to adhere to this policy and guidelines may lead to blocking of offending users. Our moderator’s decision to block offending users is final.
Poll of the day