Skip to main content
January 19, 2019

Bollywood IIFA 2014 Special

The International Indian Film Academy Awards (also known as the IIFA Awards) are a set of awards presented annually by the International Indian Film Academy to honour both artistic and technical excellence of professionals in Bollywood, the Hindi language film industry. Launched in 2000, the ceremony is held in various countries around the world every year with the most recent one being held in Tampa Bay Area, Florida, USA.

 East FM presenter Rajesh Dhanda represented the Radio Africa Group along with Deepa Bharaj who was our special correspondent who joined Rajesh from Chicago to bring live coverage of the glitzy event.

The crème de la crème of Bollywood and Hollywood walked the Green Carpet, enthralling fans who were screaming for attention to take selfies with their favourite stars and get their autographs. Hollywood stars like John Travolta and Kevin Spacey were also there. Travolta actually flew himself down to Florida for the ceremony in one of his personal planes to receive the Outstanding Contribution to International Cinema while Shatrughan Sinha was presented the Outstanding Contribution to Indian Cinema award by his daughter Sonakshi Sinha.

In a nutshell, Bhaag Milkha Baag did very well indeed at IIFAs.



 Complete list of winners:


Best Performance in a Leading Role (Female) – Deepika Padukone for ‘Chennai Express’

Best Performance in a Leading Role (Male) – Farhan Akhtar for ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’

Best Performance in a Supporting Role (Female) – Divya Dutta for ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’

Best Performance in a Leading Role (Male) – Aditya Roy Kapur for “Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani’

Best Debut (Male) – Dhanush for ‘Raanjhanaa’.

Best Debut (Female) – Vaani Kapoor for Shudh Desi Romance

Best Director – Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra for ‘Bhaag Milkha Bhaag’.

Best performance in a comic role Arshad Warsi for ‘Jolly L.L.B’

Best performance in a negative role – Rishi Kapoor for ‘D-Day’

Best Playback Singer (Female) – Shreya Ghoshal for Sun Raha Hai Na Tu (Aashiqui 2)

Best Playback Singer (Male) – Arijit Singh for Tum Hi Ho (Aashiqui 2)

Entertainer of the year – Deepika Padukone

‘Outstanding Contribution to Indian Cinema’ – Shatrughan Sinha. The award was presented by his daughter Sonakshi Sinha.

Outstanding Contribution To International Cinema – John Travolta

Poll of the day