Safaricom CEO Ndegwa lands new role in Ruto's new appointments

Ruto has also named Lukoye Atwoli as the board chair of Mathari Hospital.

In Summary
  • His appointment took effect October 31 for a period of five years.
  • Mwangi’s tenure at the varsity lapsed on July 20, 2023.
Safaricom CEO Peter Ndegwa
Safaricom CEO Peter Ndegwa
Image: FILE

President William Ruto has assigned a new role to Safaricom CEO Peter Ndegwa.

A Gazette notice dated November 2 indicates that Ndegwa will now be the new chancellor of Meru University of Science and Technology.

His appointment took effect on October 31 . He will serve for a period of five years.

“In exercise of the powers conferred by section 38 (1) (a) of the Universities Act, 2012, I, William Samoei Ruto, President of the Republic of Kenya and Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Forces, appoint–to be the Chancellor of the Meru University of Science and Technology, for five (5) years, with effect from November 1, 2023,” the notice reads.

Ndegwa replaces Equity Bank boss James Mwangi who is the current chancellor of the Open University of Kenya (OUK).

Mwangi’s tenure at the Meru varsity lapsed on July 20, 2023, having served in the position for two five-year terms.

In some other appointments, Ruto has also named Lukoye Atwoli as the non-executive chairperson of the board of directors of Mathari National Teaching and Referral Hospital.

Lukoye is the son of COTU secretary general Francis Atwoli.

He is set to serve for three years.

On the other hand, former Ijara MP Sophia Abdi Noor has landed a job as the chairperson of the National Council for Children Services.

Noor was elected in 2017 making her the first female MP to be elected in the North eastern region.

She, however, lost it to Abdi Ali Abdi of NAP-K in the 2022 general election.

At the same time, Ruto appointed Lucas Mogoa a member of the State Corporations Advisory Committee.

They are set to serve for a period of three years.

On his part, Treasury cabinet secretary Njuguna Ndung'u has named lawyer Kipchumba Karori alongside Geoffrey Malombe as joint secretaries to the Pending Bills Verification Committee.

He has also picked Peter Kibet Koech as a member of the Kenya Institute for Public Policy Research and Yusuf Ibrahim and Lilian Abishai as members of the Kenya Accountants and Secretaries National Examination Board, for a period of three years.

In the same Gazette Notice, Interior cabinet secretary Kindiki Kithure has appointed Benson Logiel Lokwang as a member of the Non-Governmental Organization Co-ordinationBoard.

Health CS Susan Nakhumicha on her part has named Erneo Nyakiba as a member of the Board of Directors of the Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital.

Nyakiba will also sit in the board for a period of three years.

WATCH: The latest videos from the Star