Police strike first blow in national boxing league

The Dave Munuhe-tutored side amassed 27 points in the three-day tournament.

In Summary

•Munuhe extolled his charges for displaying great character in the tournament.

•Boxing Federation of Kenya communications director, Duncan Kuria, said the event was a success.

Boxers trading blows during the National Boxing Championship in Trans Nzoia.
Boxers trading blows during the National Boxing Championship in Trans Nzoia.

The Kenya Police boxing team, Chafua Chafua, clinched the first leg of the National Boxing championship staged in Kitale over the weekend.

Tutored by Hit Squad assistant coach Dave Munuhe, the law enforcers dominated the proceedings to amass 27 points in the three-day event.

Munuhe extolled his charges for displaying great character to emerge champions.

“We have fired a warning shot we are still eager to defend our title and that's motivating heading into the next two final legs of the national championship," Munuhe said.

The Kenya Defence Forces (KDF), finished second with 26 points. Kibra and Kajiado tied in third with eight each while Kisumu accumulated six points to secure a fifth-place finish.

Vihiga were sixth in the standings with four points as G44 settled for seventh, after scoring three points.

Siaya garnered two points to secure an eighth-place finish with Trans Nzoia fizzling out to the ninth spot after collecting a solitary point. Kongowea emerged from the competition empty-handed.

Boxing Federation of Kenya (BFK) communications director, Duncan Kuria, said the event lived up to its billing.

“A total of 84 boxers representing 10 teams participated in the event. 75 of the participating pugilist were male and 10 of them were ladies,” Kuria said.

KDF's Abednego Kyalo thumped Silas Onyango of Kenya Police 3-0 in the minimum weight. In the women's bout, seasoned Hit Squad pugilist Christine Ongare (Police) beat Mary Aluoch (Siaya). Veronica Mbithe (KDF) beat Ann Wanjiru of Kongowea 3-0 in the women's flyweight while Kevin Maina (KDF) outscored Morris Irungu (G44) in the men's bout.

Africa Zone III champion Shaffi Bakari (Police) made light work of Dennis Mwendwa (KDF) in the men's bantamweight division.

KDF's Isaac Meja was crowned the men's featherweight champion after outwitting Keffa Kanali from Kajiado.

Pius Macharia (KDF) beat Kibra's Warren Onyango 3-0 to win the men's lightweight final.

Amina Martha (Kibra) outplayed Pauline Chege (KDF) to secure the women's bantamweight title. In the women's lightweight, Elizabeth Wafula (Trans Nzoia) lost to Elizabeth Atieno (Siaya).

Ethan Maina (Police) romped to victory in the light welter following a hard-fought win over Boniface Moses (Kibra).

Joseph Shighali (Police) took home the men's welterweight title after an emphatic display over Tonny Owino (Kisumu).

Boniface Mugunde (Police) thumped Abdul Awali (Vihiga) to win the light middleweight final while Edwin Okong'o (KDF) edged out fellow Hit Squad member George Cosby (Police) to claim the bragging rights in the middleweight division.

Mediatrich Muhatia (Vihiga) triumphed in the women's light heavyweight after beating Metrine Sagina (Trans Nzoia). Silas Masake (Police) schooled Anthony Mwangi (Kajiado) in the men's bout.

Hezron Maganga (KDF) won the cruiserweight final after a brilliant display against Moses Juma (Kibra).

In the men's heavyweight, Joshua Wasike (Police) better Abuti (KDF). Elly Ajowi (Police) outplayed Felix Oyier (Kisumu) in the super heavyweight.

Edited by Tony Mballa