Eight to fight for Div 2 slots in December

High school students playing football.Photo/File
High school students playing football.Photo/File

Eight teams from zonal leagues will fight for two slots in Division Two during the western mini league planned for December 1-2 in Kakamega sub branch.
A meeting between branch and club officials agreed that Kakamega was the most central venue to host the teams that include teams from Vihiga, Busia, and Butere- Mumias. The meeting chaired by acting chairman, Moses Akali agreed that all the teams will pay participation fee of Sh10,000.
Out of the eight teams, three will be promoted to the fourth tier league with three others being relegated to the lower league.
Speaking during the meeting, Akali warned the teams against using ineligible players, stating that such action will attract stiff penalties that will include suspension from the league. “Any team that is still in arrears as far as participation fee is concerned, will also be disqualified,” he added.
Teams that qualified are Shinyalu United, Maseno United, Epanga FC, Masinde Muliro University Alumni, Butali Sugar, Kabras Warriors and Mumias East Combined.