Call for Kalasha Awards submissions

It's the 10th edition of the annual awards

In Summary

• Filmmakers urged to submit content in 31 categories in film, TV and special awards

Kenya Film Commission Logo
Kenya Film Commission Logo
Image: Courtesy

The 10th edition of the annual Kalasha Awards is still on. The call for entries was sent out on August 17 and closes on October 16.

It is all systems go for the Kenya Film Commission-run affair, often referred to as the Kenyan Oscars.

Kalasha Awards is one of the commission’s key projects, where winners of various categories in the TV and Film industry are celebrated, creating a vibrant film industry.


KFC is appealing to filmmakers to submit content. Through the KFC official website, they said:

"It’s that time of the year to have your hard work recognised. You are creative, you live to entertain, you tell your stories through the camera, let’s talk film awards! The 10th edition of Kalasha International TV and Film Awards is here."

Last year attracted 959 entries in the 34 categories that were up for competition.

This year’s edition has 31 categories up for contest, with 17 under Film, eight under Television and six under Special Awards.

Last year’s festival was held at Safari Park Hotel and saw George Mo and Sarah Hassan get voted as the Best Lead Actor and Actress respectively.

Andrew Odera’s ‘Lost in Time’ won the Best Feature, while ‘Whistleblower’ scooped the Best Short Film.