AMAA Awards: Call for applications issued

The deadline for submissions is April 1

In Summary

• Awards seek to grow African cinema and showcase its social relevance worldwide

AMAA Awards poster
AMAA Awards poster
Image: Courtesy

The Africa Film Academy cordially invites filmmakers to submit their feature, short, animation and documentary work for consideration in 28 film categories of the 16th Africa Movie Academy Awards (AMAA).

The deadline for submissions is April 1. Nominations will be announced on August 30. The award ceremony will be held on October 25 in Lagos, Nigeria, and will be televised globally.

The primary aim of the AMA Awards is to facilitate the development of African cinema and showcase its social relevance across the globe. The awards recognise and honour the excellence of professionals of African descent in the film industry worldwide. This includes directors and all professional aspects of filmmaking.

Only films produced and released between January 2019 and March 2020 may be entered for this celebration of African cinema.