SOCIAL MEDIA

How to mute someone on Facebook

You can block someone on Facebook from seeing your posts and status updates but still remain friends.

In Summary

• You can choose to either mute or snooze their posts for a certain period of time.

• You may want to unfriend them but you are still in touch, the only option left is muting.

(FILES) In this file illustration photo taken on April 07, 2021, a smart phone screen displays the logo of Facebook on a Facebook website background in Arlington, Virginia.
(FILES) In this file illustration photo taken on April 07, 2021, a smart phone screen displays the logo of Facebook on a Facebook website background in Arlington, Virginia.
Image: AFP

We all have that annoying friend on social media who always posts inappropriate content that pops up on your timeline every so often.

You may want to unfriend them but still want to stay in touch, so the best option is to mute them.

Muting someone on Facebook hides their posts and status updates, but you remain friends and can still view their profile.

You can either mute or snooze their posts for a given period of time but they will not be notified about it.

Mute someone's story
Mute someone's story
Image: MARGARET WANJIRU

How to mute someone's story

Step 1

Open your Facebook and log in.

Step 2

Find the person’s story you would like to mute

Step 3

Tap on the 3 dots at the top right, and choose ‘Mute Story’

Step 4

If you are going to snooze posts from a person, select Snooze “name” for 30 days.

You can also unfollow a page whose posts you do not want to see any more.