TECHNOLOGY

WhatsApp: How to tell if someone has blocked you

The application does not notify you if you get blocked.

In Summary

•The application does not notify you if you get blocked.

•WhatsApp says it has made that intentionally ambiguous in order to protect a user’s privacy when they block someone.

WhatsApp application on google play store
WhatsApp application on google play store
Image: MARGARET WANJIRU

WhatsApp has become a widely used messaging application globally.

There is no definite way to tell that someone has blocked you on WhatsApp but there may be a few indicators because the application does not notify you if you get blocked.

Here is what you should look out for:

  • If you can no longer see the contact’s last seen or online in the chat window.
  • You do not see updates to a contact's profile photo.
  • Any messages sent to the contact who has blocked you will always show one check mark (message sent), and never show a second check mark (message delivered).
  • Any calls you attempt to place will not go through.

If you see all of the indicators above for a contact, this could mean that the user is blocking you. However, there are other possibilities. Perherps the user might have deleted the application or other technical issues.

WhatsApp says it has made that intentionally ambiguous in order to protect a user’s privacy when they block someone.

“WATCH: The latest videos from the Star”