Get to know the stages of grief

Grief and loss are part of human life

In Summary
  • Everyone has their own way of grieving and the time taken is also different.
  • Some people grief while others may not.
Woman crying
Woman crying
Image: FILE

Grief and loss are part of the human life. Loss can be experienced through death or the end of a relationship, friendship or job.

Everyone has their own way of grieving and the time taken is also different. Some people grieve while others may not.

One can feel emotions like loneliness, and sadness. You may also experience numbness, anxiety, and guilt among other emotions.

It's crucial to treat yourself with kindness when grieving. 

Grief has five stages which are highlighted below. One can go through them all or fail to.


This is the first stage which entails an effort to take in and comprehend the news.

One may feel their life is crumbing, and ask questions like why it is happening to them.

Since the reality has shifted or is shifting one is trying to move forward with life without the person, or the job they have lost.

Some people might struggle with accepting the new reality at this stage.


It involves emotions such as frustration, loneliness, and uncertainty.

One can blame themselves, God,  their managers, and in case of death the doctors involved or the caregivers.

It can be used to either face the situation, avoid it and if not handled well, it can be projected to friends and family.

One can also be angry with the person they have lost.


In this stage, you may ask yourself the what-if questions, and it's where you think or say things that you would do to have the person or job back.

You feel desperate to do anything to go back to how things were.

You could also wish to change how you reacted to a certain situation in the past.

When in this stage try to accept the new reality slowly as it sinks in.


Here one deals with the pain instead of running away. The sadness grows, one can become less social, a change in eating and sleeping patterns will also be noted.

Get the help you need from your family, friends, or a professional when in this stage.


In this stage, one is able to move forward with their life even though they still feel sad. 

One accepts reality instead of resisting it or trying to make it different.

One can start making new friends, looking for new jobs, and doing things that they enjoy.

WATCH: The latest videos from the Star