Woman Rep Race: List of Winners

The county woman representatives serve in the National Assembly.

In Summary

•All 47 counties took part in choosing their next woman representatives.

•Some of the candidates retained their seats while others lost, as it is the norm with every election


Kenyans on Tuesday, August 9, exercised their civic duty by voting for their preferred candidates from the presidency to members of the county assembly.

All 47 counties took part in choosing their next woman representatives.

The county woman representatives serve in the national assembly alongside the 290 members elected from the constituencies.

Here is the list of woman rep-elect: 

  • Migori

Independent candidate Fatuma Mohamed won the Migori Woman Rep seat. She garnered 154,538 votes beating ODM’s Ghati Denittah who got 117,591 votes.

  • Kisumu

ODM’s Ruth Odinga bagged the Kisumu Woman Rep seat with 304,293 votes. Valentine Otieno of MDG was second with 80,117 votes.

  • Homa Bay

ODM’s Joyce Bensouda won Homa Bay Woman Rep seat. She got 284,348 votes; Independent candidate Moline Marucha was second with 67,037 votes.

  •   Bomet

Linet Chepkorir Toto of UDA won the Bomet woman representative after garnering 242,775; Senator Alice Milgo of CCM managed a paltry 43,180 votes.

  • Siaya 

ODM's Christine Ombaka won the Siaya County Woman Member of the National Assembly seat after garnering 207,748; Radio personality Sella Ayimba of the MDG party came second with 145,506 votes.

  • Tharaka Nithi

TSP party candidate Susan Ngugi has clinched the seat with 72749; Beatrice Kathomi of UDA came in second with 68396.

  • Kiambu

Kiambu County Anne Wamuratha of United Democratic Alliance has clinched the seat.

She garnered 405,492 votes as her counterpart, Mercy Nungari of the Tujibebe Wakenya party, who came in second with 212,115 votes.

  • Kakamega

Kakamega Woman Representative Elsie Muhanda has been overwhelmingly re-elected for a second term.

Muhanda, who ran on an ODM ticket, won with 300,426 votes against her closet contender, Naomi Shiyonga, who managed 67,351 votes. There were six other contenders.

  • Isiolo

Mumina Gollo Bonaya has clinched the Isiolo woman's representative seat 

Bonaya got 23,994 while the incumbent Rehema Jaldesa followed closely with 21,804. 

Bonaya contested under the Jubilee ticket.

  • Meru

UDA's Elizabeth Kailemia Karambu was elected Woman Representative after garnering 259,445 votes.

Felicity Biriri of 'MBUS' came in second with 164,780 votes.

  • Kitui

Irene Kasalu, of Wipert, successfully defended her seat by garnering 201,899 votes.

Her closest rival Penina Malonza of UDA garnered 78,783.

  • Makueni

Makueni Women Representative Rose Museo defended her seat in the  2022 General election.

  • Trans Nzoia

Lilian Sioyi of UDA beat the incumbent Janet Nangabo Wanyama.

  • Uasin Gishu

 Gladys Shollei has retained her seat.

She won the race by a huge margin garnering 292,154 votes against her rival Dorcas Jebet of the ODM party who got 54,742 votes.

Shollei ran for the seat on a United Democratic Alliance party ticket.

She was first elected in the position in 2017 on a Jubilee party ticket

  • Laikipia

Jane Kagiri won the seat in her second attempt after losing it in 2017 to the incumbent  Ms Catherine Waruguru.

Kagiri scooped 69,735votes against Beth Waithera of The Service Party (TSP) who garnered 43,539 votes.

In the third position was Purity Kendi an Independent candidate, who got 26,905 votes.

  • Nakuru

Liza Chelule of UDA has retained her woman representative seat after garnering 382,143 votes.

Her closest competitor, Agnes Njambi of the Jubilee Party, got 194,610 votes.

  • Machakos

Joyce Kamene Kasimbi of Wiper retained her seat, having bagged 253,106 votes out of the 413,875 votes cast.

  • Kericho

Beatrice Kemei 

  • Vihiga

Beatrice Adagala was re-elected through the ANC party ticket. 

  • Nyamira

Jubilee’s Jerusha Momanyi, who is the incumbent woman rep, was re-elected after she garnered 84,843, votes against Emily Nyagarama who got 72,434 votes.

  • Embu

Pamela Njeru of UDA won the seat trouncing the incumbent Jane Wanjuki Njiru.

  • Lamu

Muthoni Marubu won with 16,480 votes, Nana Mohamed Mote of the Jubilee Party came second with 13,174 votes. Nominated MCA Amina Kale Loo of ANC came third with 10,398 votes.

  • Kisii

Former Egesa FM presenter Dorice Donya Aburi, 40, clinched the Woman Representative seat after defeating Janet Ongera. Aburi garnered 190,276 votes against Ong’era’s 59,595 votes. She was a Wiper party candidate.

  • Busia

Catherine Omanyo won the seat on an ODM party ticket.

  • Elgeyo Marakwet

Caroline Ngelechei who contested as an independent won the seat by receiving 104,928 votes. 

Ngelechei trounced Jane Kiptoo, commonly known as Chebaibai who got 58,726 votes. 

  • Siaya

ODM's Christine Ombaka has won the Siaya woman rep seat.

County returning Officer Catherine Bulinda announced on Friday that Ombaka attained 207,748 votes to trounce her other six competitors.

Radio personality Sella Ayimba of the MDG party came second with 145,506 votes.

Emmah Akinyi, 25, if Maendeleo Democratic party got some 7,447 to occupy position three.

  • Taita Taveta

Lydia Haika vied on a UDA party ticket and trounced her rival, the former woman representative Joyce Lay of Jubilee to earn a second term.

She won with 38,363 votes against Lay’s 22,076 votes.

Gertrude Shuwe of DAP-K finished a distant third with 16,642 votes.

  • Wajir

Fatuma Abdi Jehow of the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) trounced Jubilee Party’s Fatuma Gedi after garnering 36,064 votes beating 11 other candidates who were battling it out for the seat.

Gedi who serves as the Jubilee Party’s Women Leagues chairperson managed 22,956 votes.

Gedi had only served for one term in the woman representative position.

  • Nairobi 

Nairobi woman representative Esther Passaris of the ODM Party has been re-elected to her position after getting 698,929 votes.

Her main rival Senator Millicent Omanga of the UDA Party came second with 586,246 votes

The winner was declared by Nairobi County Returning Officer Albert Gogo and issued the certificate to Passaris.


More follows....

“WATCH: The latest videos from the Star”
WATCH: The latest videos from the Star