34 MPs line up raft of amendments to Finance Bill, 2024

Suba South MP Millie Odhiambo filed notice to withdraw her proposed amendments

In Summary
  • President William Ruto had last week extended an olive branch to the protesters and called for dialogue.
  • The Finance Bill has already sailed through the Second Reading where it was voted 204 and 115.
MPs during a session in parliament.
DEMOCRACY: MPs during a session in parliament.
Image: FILE

At least 34 Members of the National Assembly have lined up over 100 amendments to the contentious Finance Bill, 2024.

According to the Order Paper for the Tuesday sitting, MPs including those allied to the opposition intend to move amendments to the Bill.

The House will consider the Bill in the Committee stage clause-by-clause after pushing it through the Second Reading level last week.

The amendments will be moved by the individual MPs when the House converts itself into a committee of the whole to consider amendments to the Bill as was published.

Among the MPs who will be moving amendments to the Finance Bill include Peter Salasya(Mumias East), Paul Nzengu(Mwingi North), Caroli Omondi(Suba South), John Wanjiku(Kiambaa), Emmanuel Wangwe(Navakholo) and Peter Kaluma( Homabay Town).

Others are Mukunji Gitonga (Manyatta), Beatrice Elachi (Dagoretti North), Farah Yussuf (Wajir West), Clive Gisairo (Kitutu Masaba), Anthony Oluoch(Mathare), Gathoni Wamuchomba (Githunguri) and Irene Mayaka (Nominated).

Others are Caleb Amisi (Saboti), Wakili Edward (Gatanga), Kwenya Thuku (Kinangop), Michael Muchira (Ol Joro Orok), Danson Mwashako(Wundanyi), Joshua Kimilu(Kaiti),Rindikiri Mugambi (Buuri),Mary Maingi (Mwea), Patrick Makau(Mavoko) and Mwingi West MP Charles Ngusya.

Those to move amendments include Mark Mwenje (Embakasi West), Leah Sankaire(Kajiado County), Martin Owino(Ndhiwa), T.J. Kajwang’  (Ruaraka ), Samuel Atandi (Alego Usonga),Wilberforce Oundo(Funyula), Wanjiku Muhia(Kipipiri) and Makali Mulu(Kitui Central).

Yatta MP Robert Basil and Umulkher Harun(nominated) are also lined up to move amendments to the Finance Bill on Tuesday.

Suba South's Millie Odhiambo(ODM) filed a notice to the clerk to withdraw her initial amendments and will not be moving any of them on the floor.

On Monday Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Coalition called on its MPs to drop any amendments already proposed and reject the Bill in totality.

National Assembly Minority Leader Opiyo Wandayi said that the coalition had resolved to push for the rejection and withdrawal of the bill.

"We have unanimously resolved that our members will drop any amendments to the Bill and reject it in its entirety,'' Wandayi said.

The House will be sitting against the backdrop of criticism over the Bill will protesters threatening to stage demos around Parliament to force MPs to reject it.

Despite protesters, MPs voted 2014 and 115 to push the Bill through the Second Reading following a stormy debate that lasted two days.

Once MPs complete the committee of the whole where they will review each of the clause, the Bill will move to the Third Reading stage to allow them to take a final vote.

WATCH: The latest videos from the Star