Ruto appoints Mudavadi Prime Cabinet Secretary

The new position was created by an Executive Order.

In Summary

•The current cabinet was appointed by former President Uhuru Kenyatta. 

Two weeks after taking oath of office as Kenya's fifth head of state, President William Ruto on Tuesday unveiled his Cabinet members.

President William Ruto
President William Ruto
Image: PSCU

President William Ruto has appointed Musalia Mudavadi the Prime Cabinet Secretary.

'That office is the most senior after that of the president and DP office," Ruto said.

Ruto said he will assist the DP and the president in liaison with interior ministry.

"He will oversee the government projects. He will coordinate national legislative agenda," he said.

He will facilitate inter-ministeral coordination of programs and supervise evaluation of government programs across ministries.

Here are the roles;

  • Assist the President and the Deputy President in the coordination and supervision of Government Ministries and State Departments;

  • In liaison with the Ministry responsible for Interior and National Administration, oversee the implementation of National Government policies, programs and projects;

  • Chair and Coordinate National Government legislative agenda across all ministries and state departments in consultation with and for transmission to the Party/Coalition Leaders in Parliament;

  • Facilitate inter-ministerial coordination of cross- functional initiatives and programmes;

  • Coordinate and supervise the technical monitoring and evaluation of Government policies, programs and projects across Ministries; and

  • Perform any other function as may be assigned by the President

On August 17, ANC nominated its party leader for appointment as the Prime Cabinet Secretary following Ruto's win in the August 9, presidential election.

ANC council unanimously nominated Mudavadi for the position in a special meeting by the party's Council Bureau.

The new position was created by an Executive Order.

The position of the Prime Cabinet Secretary was agreed upon by the founding party members of Kenya Kwanza alliance in an agreement signed by Ruto of UDA, Moses Wetang'ula of Ford Kenya and Mudavadi on behalf of the ANC party.

WATCH: The latest videos from the Star