List of senators who have retained their seats

At least 16 successfully defend their seats

In Summary
  • Senator Steve Lelegwe has defended his seat after garnering 40,066 votes on a UDA ticket.
  • Senator Moses Kajwang of the ODM retained his seat after polling 353,882 votes.

As the IEBC closes in on declaring winners of the senatorial seats some incumbents managed to defend their seats.

In this year's election, a majority retained their seats.

Mombasa county

Mohamed Faki prevailed against his opponents to retain his seat.

Faki, who vied on an ODM ticket, garnered 110,040 votes while his closest competitor Hamisi Mwaguya of UDA got 76,069 votes in a race that attracted 14 candidates.

This is the second time he has been elected for the seat, after winning it first winning in 2017.

Kwale county

Issa Juma Boy of ODM was reelected by garnering 52, 772 votes. 

He was followed by Antony Yama of UDA with 41, 762 votes and Mudzo Nzili(1,250).

Others were Salim Mwadumbo of ANC secured 16, 902 votes and William Ndeti of DP had 9,236.

At least nine candidates vied for the senatorial seat.

Kilifi county

Stewart Madzayo was re-elected Senator for Kilifi on an ODM ticket.

Taita Taveta county

Mwaruma Johnes Mwashushe is the Senator of Taita Taveta.

The former teacher made his maiden appearance in the Senate in 2017.

Garissa county

Abdulkadir Haji was declared Garissa Senator-elect after garnering 72,383 votes.

Haji vied for the seat under the Jubilee and at least eight candidates vied for the senatorial seat.

Isiolo county

Senator Dullo Fatuma Adan defended her senatorial seat in the August 9 election.

She contested under the Jubilee ticket.

She was the deputy majority leader in the second Senate and the first woman Senator for Isiolo.

Kitui county

Senator Enoch Wambua successfully defended under the Wiper ticket.

Samburu county

Senator Steve Lelegwe has defended his seat after garnering 40,066 votes on a UDA ticket.

He trounced Joseph Lepariyo of ODM who got 2,111 votes while Joshua Leparachao of DAP-K got 485 votes.

Elegeyo Marakwet county

Kipchumba Murkomen defended his senatorial seat in the Elgeyo Marakwet garnering 141,091 votes.

Murkomen's opponent, the outgoing governor Alex Tolgos who was vying on a Jubilee ticket managed 20,648 votes.

Nandi county

Nandi senator Samson Cherargei defended his seat on a UDA ticket and emerged victorious.

Narok county

The current Narok Senator Ledama Olekina has been re-elected to serve another five-year term.

Ledama was declared the winner after garnering 135,180 votes.

He was contesting on an ODM. Outgoing governor Samuel Tunai came in second with 117,869 votes.

Tunai contested on a UDA ticket.

Ledama was among the aspirants who were given a direct ticket by ODM.

Kericho county

Kericho senator Aaron Cheruiyot has defended his seat on a UDA ticket. 

Bungoma county

Bungoma Senator Moses Wetang'ula has also been re-elected.

Results announced by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission showed the Ford Kenya boss garnered 286,143 votes.

Homa Bay county

Senator Moses Kajwang of the ODM retained his seat after polling 353,882 votes.

Kajwang trounced Kanu's Tom Ojanga who got 18,290 votes while Kenneth Kambona had 17,775 votes.

Machakos county

Wiper's Agnes Kavindu Muthama has been declared the winner of the Machakos senatorial seat by IEBC.

Kavindu became the third senator of Machakos after winning a by-election in 2021 following the death of Senator Boniface Mutind Kabaka December in 2020

Nyamira county

Senator Okong’o Omogeni retained his seat after garnering 96,432 votes against UDA’s Mose Nyambega who got 43,866 votes.

Adams Mochenwa of DP was third with 22,235 votes.

“WATCH: The latest videos from the Star”
WATCH: The latest videos from the Star