3 CSs, 7 CASs among government officials who resigned

President Uhuru Kenyatta directed his cabinet members to resign by Tuesday.

In Summary

• Civil servants interested in vying in the August Election have until Wednesday, February 9 to resign from their positions.

• Munyes is in the race for the Turkana governor seat.

Members of the cabinet who have quit to run for elective seats.
Members of the cabinet who have quit to run for elective seats.

The Court of Appeal’s ruling on Tuesday morning that Civil servants eyeing political seats in the August 9 elections prompted more officials to tender their resignations.

The ruling set aside a Labour Court ruling that it was discriminatory to require public servants to resign.

This means that civil servants interested in vying in General Election have until Wednesday, February 9, to resign from their positions.

However, before the ruling, a number of officials had already resigned.

Several government officials ranging from CSs, PSs, and CASs have expressed their interest in g and senate seats.

On Tuesday, Devolution CS Charles Keter resigned as he set to focus on his bid to replace Kericho County Governor Paul Chepkwony who is serving his second term.

Keter was among the six Cabinet Secretaries in President Uhuru Kenyatta’s government who served in the first and second cabinet.

Prior to his appointment as the Energy CS when Jubilee ascended to power in 2013, Keter was serving as Senator, a position which he resigned from after being appointed to the cabinet.

He is now coming back to Kericho residents seeking to govern them as their governor in the County Government.

“I have today tendered my resignation to his Excellency President Uhuru Kenyatta. I’m also complying with the circular which was issued by the Head of Public Service last week dated January 28, 2022, requiring all state and public officers who are not exempted by the provision of Election Act 2011 from resigning to vacate their offices,” Keter said.

He is expected to vie on Deputy President William Ruto’s UDA party.

Hours after Keter resigned, Petroleum and Mining CS John Munyes also tendered his resignation.

Munyes is in the race for Turkana gubernatorial seat as governor Josphat Nanok’s second term comes to an end.

He said that the people of Turkana are waiting for him because his next assignment, God willing is to run for the seat of governor in Turkana.

“Turkana is facing a lot of problems,” Munyes said.

Munyes was appointed as the CS by president Uhuru in January 2018.

Prior to his appointment, Munyes served as the Senator for Turkana for 5 years beginning in 2013.

Another CS who has resigned is Adan Mohamed who was serving as EAC CS.

He will runrun for the Mandera gubernatorial seat.

Water PS Joseph Irung’u also resigned on Tuesday after four years in office officially to join politics. Irung’u.

Tourism CAS Joseph Boinnet also took a bow as he seeks to be the next governor of Elgeyo Marakwet.

Also, Labour and Social Protection CAS Patrick Ole Ntutu has quit in his bid for the Narok County governor seat.

Petroleum and Mining CAS Eng. John Mosonik resigned to seek the Bomet governor seat which is also being eyed by incumbent Governor Hillary Barchok and former governor Isaac Ruto of Chama Cha Mashinani.

Other CASs who have resigned from Uhuru’s administration are Wavinya Ndeti (Transport) who will vie for Machakos gubernatorial seat, Hassan Noor Hassan (Education) will seek to be the next Mandera governor using ODM ticket, Gideon Mung’aro (Devolution) wants to take over from Amason Kingi as Kilifi governor, Ken Obura (East African Community) who is seeking to be the next Kisumu governor.

Former Rift Valley Regional Commissioner George Natembeya was the first to resign as he gets ready to vie for the Trans Nzoia gubernatorial seat using the Democratic Action Party of Kenya (DAP-K) ticket.

WATCH: The latest videos from the Star