Kakamega takes best performing county award

Survey to establish extent to which leaders work to trigger a citizen-centred development agenda

In Summary

• Oparanya named the best performing governor, Savula the best MP and Muhanda the best among Woman Reps by the County Gala Awards

• The survey was conducted between January 1 and February 30

The Kakamega government has been voted the best performing county in Western region. It scooped the best governor, the best MP and best Woman Representative awards on Friday.

Governor Wycliffe Oparanya was the best performing county chief and Lugari lawmaker Ayub Savula the best MP. Woman Representative Elsie Muhanda was the best among the four women MPs in the region.

The prizes were given by the County Gala Awards (CGA), a business and marketing company.

CGA chief executive Khalid Njiraini said the company undertook a public satisfaction survey on Uongozi na Ugatuzi" in Kakamega, Vihiga, Busia, Bungoma and Trans Nzoia counties to establish the extent to which leaders worked to trigger a citizen-centred development agenda.

The survey was conducted between January 1 and February 30.

The survey ranked Kakamega the best county in managing health services. Bungoma was voted best in infrastructural development. Ford Kenya leader Moses Wetang’ula was named the best senator.

MPs Savula, Mwambu Mabonga, Alfred Agoi, Chris Wamalwa and Sakwa Bunyasi were the best MPs in Kakamega, Bumula, Sabatia, Trans Nzoia and Busia counties, respectively.

All those feted for good performance are eyeing higher seats in 2022.

Oparanya and Wetang’ula want to be President.  Savula, Agoi, Wamalwa and Bunyasi are interested in being governors of Kakamega, Vihiga, Trans Nzoia and Busia, respectively, in 2022.

Emuhaya MP Omboko Milemba, Caleb Amisi (Saboti), Bernard Shinali (Ikolomani), Ohambo Oundo (Butula) and Alfred Sambu (Webuye East) were named the most progressive MPs. All - except Sambu - are first term MPs.

Wetang’ula and Oparanya said the event marked the beginning of Luhya renaissance and should be transformed into a movement to prepare the community for power in 2022.

Sports and Heritage Amina Mohamed received the community service award. Cotu secretary General Francis Atwoli was feted as the most distinguished elder. United Democratic Party (UDP) leader Cyrus Jirongo received the philanthropic award.

Devolution CS Eugene Wamalwa was picked for the legacy award and Prof Stanley Khainga for the health award.

Kakamega Hills School received the best primary school award. Bunyore Girls was awarded for being the best girls’ high school, while Friends School Kamusinga got the best boys high school award.

Prof Laban Ayiro was named the best educationist. Shinyalu MP Justus Kizito was named the peoples’ choice.