Monday, Jan 26th 2015

IEBC to publish list of county rep nominees

Monday, April 15, 2013 - 00:00 -- BY EUGENE OKUMU
IEBC Chairman Isaack Hassan.
IEBC Chairman Isaack Hassan.

The High Court has issued an order directing the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), to publish a list of county assembly nominees as submitted by political parties within five days in two newspapers with the highest circulation.

The three-judge bench composed of Justices Isaac Lenaola, Mumbi Ngugi and David Majanja further directed that the IEBC should establish a disputes resolution mechanism that will deal with any grievances within 21 days.

The National Gender and Equity Commission had moved to court and obtained an order barring the IEBC from gazetting the names of 32 nominees to the county assembly.

The gender commission cited articles 90, 97 (1) ( c ), 98 (1) (b) ( c ), and 177 all which stipulate the composition of the nominees to the county assembly. The nominated seats for county assembly representatives are reserved for women, the disabled, marginalised groups, minority groups and other special groups.

The gender commission had said however that political parties nominated their cronies in contravention of the constitution. After the 21 days, the IEBC will then be free to gazette the list of nominees.