Skip to main content
February 16, 2019

Stars in camp

Harambee Stars’ goalkeeper Ian Otieno during a past match /COURTESY
Harambee Stars’ goalkeeper Ian Otieno during a past match /COURTESY

Former AFC Leopards and Zambia-based Harambee Stars goalkeeper Ian Otieno led 16 players in reporting to a residential camp yesterday at the Kenya School of Monetary Studies in preparation for the 2019 African Cup of Nations qualifier match against Ghana on Saturday at Moi Stadium, Kasarani.

Otieno, who plies his trade with Red Arrows, is the sole foreign-based player to report to camp where he is set to make his debut in the national team courtesy of his heroics in the Zambian league having kept a record 13 clean sheets.

Experienced centre half Joash Onyango led Gor Mahia teammates Samuel Onyango, Francis Kahata and Philemon Otieno with Boniface Oluoch a no-show.

Leopards skipper Duncan Otieno and on-form midfielder Whyvonne Isuza were present while Sofapaka duo of Pistone Mutamba and Dennis Odhiambo reported for the team’s first training session.

The team held their first training session yesterday with head coach Sebastien Migne expected to welcome the rest of the squad in the course of the week after wrapping late their weekend assignments with their respective clubs.

Kenya will heavily rely on home advantage to record their first Group ‘F’ win following their 2-1 loss to Sierra Leone in their opening match.

Provisional squad

Goalkeepers: Ian Otieno (Red Arrows, Zambia), Patrick Matasi (Tusker), Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks), Farouk Shikalo (Bandari); Defenders: Brian Mandela (Maritzburg, South Africa), David Owino (Zesco, Zambia), Joseph Okumu (AFC Ann Arbor, USA), Musa Mohammed (Nkana FC, Zambia), Erick Ouma (Vasalund, Sweden), David Ochieng (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Abud Omar (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Philemon Otieno (Gor Mahia), Jockins Atudo (Posta Rangers), Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia) Benard Ochieng (Vihiga United); Midfielders: Victor Wanyama (Tottenham Hotspurs, England), Mc Donald Mariga (Real Oviedo, Spain), Clifton Miheso (Buildcon FC, Zambia), Paul Were (FC Kaisar, Kazakhstan), Ismael Gonzales (CF Fuenlabrada, Spain), Eric Johanna (IF Brommapojkarna, Sweden), Johanna Omollo (CCerc Belgium), Anthony Akumu (Zesco, Zambia), Whyvonne Isuza (AFC Leopards), Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia), George Odhiambo (Gor Mahia),Duncan Otieno (AFC Leopards), Samuel Onyango (Gor Mahia); Forwards: Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Ovella Ochieng (Vasalund, Sweden), Jesse Were (Zesco, Zambia), Masud Juma (Un-attached), Cliff Nyakeya (Mathare United), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Piston Mutamba (Sofapaka), Allan Wanga (Kakamega Homeboyz)

Poll of the day