Skip to main content
March 18, 2018

Shujaa to face Aussies in Hong Kong Sevens

Argentina’s Felipe del Mestre is stopped by Kenya Oscar Ouma and Colins Injera on day two of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in Las Vegas on March 3, 2018. /COURTESY
Argentina’s Felipe del Mestre is stopped by Kenya Oscar Ouma and Colins Injera on day two of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in Las Vegas on March 3, 2018. /COURTESY

Fresh from finishing second at the Vancouver Sevens over the weekend, Shujaa have been handed a tricky draw for the Hong Kong Sevens next month where they face Australia, Canada and Spain in Pool ‘B’.

Kenya, who bagged 19 points from their exploits in the Canadian city will open their campaign against Canada, whom they are expected to meet at the Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast two weeks later.

The two sides have met once this season, at the Dubai Sevens in December, with Innocent Simiyu’s charges running out 29-15 winners.

Shujaa will then face Spain in their second preliminary match. The two sides met in Vancouver with Kenya hammering the hapless Spaniards 43-0 and hold a favourable record against the Europeans, winning their last seven encounters.

Kenya’s final pool game will be against Australia, whom they have met thrice, with the Aussies winning all (19-12 in Dubai, 33-12 in Hamilton, and 26-21 in Las Vegas).

Kenya lie eighth on the standings with 64 points and remain on course to meet their target of 100 points with four tournaments remaining.

The squad was expected back in to the country last night and will rest for a week before resuming training in preparation for the Hong Kong event.

Team manager, Eric Ogweno, said the team had no injuries from the two events in Las Vegas and Vancouver.

Olympic champions and Vancouver winners, Fiji face New Zealand, Russia and Samoa in Pool ‘A’. Champions South Africa have a date with England, Scotland and South Korea in Pool ‘C’.

USA will battle it out with Argentina, Wales, and France in Pool D

Kenya Lionesses, have been drawn in Pool ‘A’ play African champions South Africa, Papua New Guinea and Mexico.

Brazil are in Pool ‘B’ with Hong Kong, China and Kazakhstan as Wales, Belgium, Argentina and Poland complete Pool ‘C’. The winner of the tournament will qualify as a core team for next season’s World Sevens Series, Women’s category.

Click here for the latest political news 

  • Thank you for participating in discussions on The Star, Kenya website. You are welcome to comment and debate issues, however take note that:
  • Comments that are abusive; defamatory; obscene; promote or incite violence, terrorism, illegal acts, hate speech, or hatred on the grounds of race, ethnicity, cultural identity, religious belief, disability, gender, identity or sexual orientation, or are otherwise objectionable in the Star’s  reasonable discretion shall not be tolerated and will be deleted.
  • Comments that contain unwarranted personal abuse will be deleted.
  • Strong personal criticism is acceptable if justified by facts and arguments.
  • Deviation from points of discussion may lead to deletion of comments.
  • Failure to adhere to this policy and guidelines may lead to blocking of offending users. Our moderator’s decision to block offending users is final.
Poll of the day