Skip to main content
November 16, 2018

NASA MPs reject Wiper’s nominee Momanyi to PSC

NASA MPs walk out of parliament chambers on September 28,2017 /HEZRON NJOROGE
NASA MPs walk out of parliament chambers on September 28,2017 /HEZRON NJOROGE

A major standoff is looming over the nomination of members to the Parliamentary Service Commission as elections take place today.

MPs from the coalition's affiliate parties yesterday differed over the decision by Kalonzo Musyoka's Wiper to front Borabu MP Ben Momanyi to one of the seats.

Addressing the media at Parliament Buildings, they said coalition leaders were not consulted. The MPs include Godfrey Osotsi (nominated), Ahmed Kolish (Wajir West), Mark Nyamita (Uriri) and Janet Ong’era (Kisii).

Read: NASA won't give names of members to vet CSs, Mbadi tells Muturi

MPs will elect seven members to the PSC. Yesterday, the Jubilee Parliamentary Group meeting chaired by President Uhuru Kenyatta and Deputy President William Ruto resolved to kick out some NASA nominees.

Osotsi said Kalonzo wrote to Speaker Justin Muturi approving Momanyi's nomination. “We had agreed on the issue of sharing of PSC slots but Kalonzo decided to write to the Speaker, without consulting the coalition parties,” he said.

"Instead of accepting the letter, Muturi should have withdrawn that process and reverted back to the coalition."

Uriri said: “The only thing we are awaiting from Wiper is when Kalonzo will be sworn in. The Speaker should not receive any letter except from NASA as a coalition”.


Click here for the latest political news 




Poll of the day