Skip to main content
March 22, 2018

Kajiado assembly gives Lenku full cabinet in record 20 minutes

Mosiro MCA Peter Tirishe told the Star the assembly united to give governor Joseph Lenku his full cabinet.
Mosiro MCA Peter Tirishe told the Star the assembly united to give governor Joseph Lenku his full cabinet.


The Kajiado assembly on Tuesday night became the second one, after Nairobi, to endorse formation of a full cabinet.

The MCAs vetted and approved Governor Joseph ole Lenku's list of chief officer nominees.

Ildamat MCA Samuel Teum had lobbied a section of MCAs to reject Lenku’s nominees, saying they did reflect the face of the region.

But on Tuesday evening, in a surprise move, the vetting committee tabled all the names in the assembly for approval. It took less than 20 minutes to vet all the 13 chief officers.

Teum was not available for comment after he earlier complained that the media scuttled his plans by reporting his intentions, before he lobbied all the opposition MCAs.

Mosiro MCA Peter Tirishe of ODM yesterday said the assembly unanimously approved all the nominees, because they want the county to move forward for the sake of development.

“After weeks of lobbying, we decided to unite as Kajiado Maasai and support the governor by approving all his nominees," he said.

"This county is larger than the interest of an individual. By rejecting what the governor has proposed is like rejecting the will of the people who elected Lenku.”

Following the endorsement by the assembly, Lenku announced that all the remaining county executive committee members and the chief officers would be sworn in yesterday.

Executives that were to be sworn are Jackline Koin (Tourism), Samuel Seki (Education), Florence Waiganjo (Water), Alais Kisota (Public Service) and Alvin Kimani (Youth and Gender).

The chief officers are Morris Kaaka (Finance), Moses Murunya (Lands), Douglas Konana (Water), Jacob Sampeke (Medical Services) and Edah Wakaba (Public Health and Sanitation).

The others are Francis Ngure (Education), Jackson Matanta (ICT), James Sankale (Environment), Grace Saitoti (Trade), Samson Parashina (Cooperatives Development), Simon Kamakei (Youth and Sports) and Benson Leyian (Governor's Delivery Unit).








  • Thank you for participating in discussions on The Star, Kenya website. You are welcome to comment and debate issues, however take note that:
  • Comments that are abusive; defamatory; obscene; promote or incite violence, terrorism, illegal acts, hate speech, or hatred on the grounds of race, ethnicity, cultural identity, religious belief, disability, gender, identity or sexual orientation, or are otherwise objectionable in the Star’s  reasonable discretion shall not be tolerated and will be deleted.
  • Comments that contain unwarranted personal abuse will be deleted.
  • Strong personal criticism is acceptable if justified by facts and arguments.
  • Deviation from points of discussion may lead to deletion of comments.
  • Failure to adhere to this policy and guidelines may lead to blocking of offending users. Our moderator’s decision to block offending users is final.
Poll of the day