Skip to main content
February 19, 2018

Album Review: KCee's "Attention to Detail"

KCee's "Attention to Detail" album cover art
KCee's "Attention to Detail" album cover art

Album: Attention to Detail 

Artist: KCee

Genre: African Pop

Release: August 24


Kingsley Chinweike, better known by his stage name KCee, is a household name in the African pop scene. His first album, Takeover, placed him strategically among the artistes primed to carry Afro pop to great heights. Now, four years later, he has released his sophomore album, Attention to Detail, which confirms his position as one of the greats. 

Spanning 19 tracks (plus three bonus tracks), the project’s production is courtesy of producers such as Mystro, Black Jeezy, Kris Beats and Dr Amir. It kicks off with the track “Intro Thank God,” a tune where KCee is expressing his appreciation for the success he has achieved in his career.

The compilation features some of the biggest names to come out of African music scene. Tu Baba offers his vocals in “High Me,” while Tekno continues to exhibit his ingenuity in “Dem Go Hear” and the popular hit “Tender”. East Africa’s boy band Sauti Sol spice up the effort in the essential track “Whine for Me”. 

The project, which is greatly dominated by a Nigerian guest artiste lineup, also includes vocals from Phyno in “Dance” and “Obiageli,” Patoranking in “Gaze,” Falz in “My Boo,” Olamide in “We Go Party” and Flavour in “Oh My God”. Ghanian dancehall king Shatta Wale is not left out as he does what he does best in “Bounce”.

In 69 minutes, you realise that KCee still retains the essential hallmarks that define his music. However, the idea of the artiste releasing an album drawing on contemporary African pop modes is, to put it amicably, predictable. In short, he plays it safe and doesn’t give us hope on whether in future he will really offer something fresh and diverse. 

Attention to Detail is not the album even for the retentive audience. It has the kind of tracks that will only last a stint. With tracks that almost sound the same, it doesn’t leave the fans wanting to have the compilation on repeat. KCee might have an engaging sound but his work lacks the concept to tie everything together.


Star rating: 3 out of 5

  • Thank you for participating in discussions on The Star, Kenya website. You are welcome to comment and debate issues, however take note that:
  • Comments that are abusive; defamatory; obscene; promote or incite violence, terrorism, illegal acts, hate speech, or hatred on the grounds of race, ethnicity, cultural identity, religious belief, disability, gender, identity or sexual orientation, or are otherwise objectionable in the Star’s  reasonable discretion shall not be tolerated and will be deleted.
  • Comments that contain unwarranted personal abuse will be deleted.
  • Strong personal criticism is acceptable if justified by facts and arguments.
  • Deviation from points of discussion may lead to deletion of comments.
  • Failure to adhere to this policy and guidelines may lead to blocking of offending users. Our moderator’s decision to block offending users is final.
Poll of the day