Skip to main content
October 20, 2017

No woman governor, senator or MP

Teso South MP Mary Emase. /FILE
Teso South MP Mary Emase. /FILE

All the women who ran for governor, MP and senator in Western have been defeated.

Teso South’s Mary Emase, the only woman MP elected on the URP ticket in 2013, was still locked in a tight battle with ODM’s Geoffrey Omuse by Friday morning. She was defending her seat on the Jubilee party.

In Busia county, independent candidate Mary Makokha lost to Joseph Oyula of ODM in the race for Butula MP.

Mediatrix Wanjira of Jubilee lost in Budalang’i constituency to Raphael Wanjala of ODM.

ANC’s Catherine Omanyo lost to Geoffrey Odanga in Matayos constituency while Karen Kassam who contested Busia senate seat on Labour Party of Kenya lost to Amos Wako.

Businesswoman Mable Muruli of JP lost to Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya of ODM.

Carolyn Mwonyonyo lost the Kakamega senator race. She emerged a distant fourth.

Vihiga woman rep Dorcas Kegode lost the Vihiga MP race to newcomer Ernest Kivai of ANC.

In Bungoma, Roselinda Simiyu and Faustine Naibei, who ran for Webuye West and Mt Elgon MP as independents lost to Dan Wanyama and Fred Kapondi of Jubilee.



  • Thank you for participating in discussions on The Star, Kenya website. You are welcome to comment and debate issues, however take note that:
  • Comments that are abusive; defamatory; obscene; promote or incite violence, terrorism, illegal acts, hate speech, or hatred on the grounds of race, ethnicity, cultural identity, religious belief, disability, gender, identity or sexual orientation, or are otherwise objectionable in the Star’s  reasonable discretion shall not be tolerated and will be deleted.
  • Comments that contain unwarranted personal abuse will be deleted.
  • Strong personal criticism is acceptable if justified by facts and arguments.
  • Deviation from points of discussion may lead to deletion of comments.
  • Failure to adhere to this policy and guidelines may lead to blocking of offending users. Our moderator’s decision to block offending users is final.
Poll of the day