Skip to main content
March 22, 2018

New dawn in KRU

Auka Gecheo, Supersport Africa's General Manager presents the school team of the year award to Friends school kamusinga./ERIC BARASA
Auka Gecheo, Supersport Africa's General Manager presents the school team of the year award to Friends school kamusinga./ERIC BARASA

Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) affiliates have adopted a motion by Nondies RFC to increase the term of elected officials from the current two years to four.

The amendment to the KRU constitution will come to effect from the next AGM in 2018, where officials elected then will serve for a four-year term and will be eligible for re-election in the same office for a further term of four years, in line with the Sports Act no.25 of the laws of Kenya.

With elections slated for next year, vice chairman Thomas Opiyo, secretary Oduor Gangla, treasurer Joshua Aroni and director John Kilonzo, who are up for re-election will stay in office for a further four years, should they get the nod from the affiliates.

Office bearers elected on Wednesday chairman Richard Omwela and the four directors Sylvia Kamau, Ian Mugambi, Ray Olendo and Ezekiel Awuor will serve up to 2019 when their terms will expire.

Nondies chairman Auka Gecheo termed the motion timely and said it was a step in the right direction for the rugby fraternity.

“We feel it’s the right thing to do for the game. Every federation is in four-year cycles as two years are very short for you to do something substantive in an elective position,” said Gecheo.

“All the targets we’re looking at achieving are at a four-year cycle including Olympics, World Cup and Commonwealth Games among others. So we think we should model ourselves along those lines,” he added.

Elsewhere, Nationwide clubs Menengai Oilers, Kiambu RFC and Masaku RFC are the new Kenya Rugby Union affiliates after getting the nod from the Annual General Meeting.

Oilers, had met all the requirements while Kiambu RFC and Masaku came in after a special request from the members due to their long-service to the game.

University of Eldoret (UoE), Dagoretti Bulldogs and MKU Stingerz (Nairobi) will have to wait for their affiliation to be confirmed after KRU secretary Oduor Gangla confirmed they are yet to meet all the requirements.

The affiliated clubs will now have a say with a vote each while playing at the Nationwide, and two votes if they get promoted to the Kenya Cup. Further, affiliates are allowed to fully participate and make worthy contributions at the AGM.

In 2016, Kitale RFC, South Coast Pirates, Embu RFC and Bungoma Sharks received their affiliation. In 2015, only one nationwide side Shieywe received affiliation while in 2014, three sides; Kabras Sugar, Western Bulls and Comras became full members.

  • Thank you for participating in discussions on The Star, Kenya website. You are welcome to comment and debate issues, however take note that:
  • Comments that are abusive; defamatory; obscene; promote or incite violence, terrorism, illegal acts, hate speech, or hatred on the grounds of race, ethnicity, cultural identity, religious belief, disability, gender, identity or sexual orientation, or are otherwise objectionable in the Star’s  reasonable discretion shall not be tolerated and will be deleted.
  • Comments that contain unwarranted personal abuse will be deleted.
  • Strong personal criticism is acceptable if justified by facts and arguments.
  • Deviation from points of discussion may lead to deletion of comments.
  • Failure to adhere to this policy and guidelines may lead to blocking of offending users. Our moderator’s decision to block offending users is final.
Poll of the day