Skip to main content
February 18, 2019

NPSC cancels recruitment of 1,215 police officers in 36 centres

Administration Police officer examines a recruit during police recruitment at Mvita grounds Mombasa on Jul 14 2014.Photo/Elkana Jacob
Administration Police officer examines a recruit during police recruitment at Mvita grounds Mombasa on Jul 14 2014.Photo/Elkana Jacob

The police recruitment exercise in 36 centres across the country have been annulled by the National Police Service Commission.

NPSC Chair Johnston Kavuludi announced on Tuesday that the decision that cancels the results for about 1,215 recruits was made following an audit of 621 complaints concerning some recruitment centres.

“Arising from the nature of issues raised in the complaints, the Commission is of the considered view that some recruitment centers fell short of the standards set by the Commission and as such the exercise in those centers needs to be annulled and a repeat of the same be undertaken,” Kavuludi said.

He said that all relevant offices and government agencies will be given the full report to enable them take necessary action against members of the recruitment committees found culpable.

“The Ministry of Interior and National Co-ordination will take appropriate administrative and disciplinary action against Sub-County commissioners, Ministry of Health against medical officers, Ministry of Education against education officers and the National Police Service against police officers found responsible and guilty for the malpractices complained about,” Kavuludi said.

His announcement  comes after the High Court on Monday morning stopped the issuing of appointment letters to  10,000 officers who were selected countrywide following the recruitment drive on July 14.

Justice Mumbi Ngugi ruled that the status quo should be maintained after hearing the application of the Independent Policing Oversight Authority.

IPOA said that the 6000 Administration, and 4000 regular police officers, were to be issued with appointment letters following a report on the integrity of the exercise being completed last week.

Ngugi however directed that no letters of appointment were to be issued until the case which is set to be heard on August 20 is determined.

IPOA filed a case with the High Court seeking to have the recruitment programme should be annulled on grounds that it was marred by nepotism, corruption and malpractice.

Kavuludi had said his commission will nullify the police recruitment if claims of widespread corruption are authenticated.

The 36 centers whose results were cancelled include:

1. Tana Delta District Headquarters Centre - Tana Delta Sub-County, Tana River County

2. Mandera North Youth Centre - Mandera East, Mandera County

3. Rhamu Police Station - Mandera North, Mandera County

4. Merti DCs Headquarters - Merti, Isiolo County

5. Kinoru Stadium - Imenti North, Meru County

6. Nguthiru Stadium - Tigania East, Meru County

7. Umau Grounds- Mbeere South, Embu Countyy

8. Njambini, Kingangop, Nyandarua County.

9. Engineer Center - Nyandarua South, Nyandarua County

10.Othaya Stadium, Nyeri South, Nyeri County

11.Gatanga Pri.School - Gatanga, Murang'a County

12.Kandara Stadium - Kandara, Murang'a County

13.Kangema General Kago - Kangema, Murang'a County

14.Kigumo Bendera Sec. School - Kigumo, Murang'a County

15.Police Division Headquaters Kapenguria - West Pokot, West Pokot County

16.Sigor T. Centre - Pokot Central , West Pokot County

17.DC's Office Chepkorio - Keiyo South, Elgeyo Marakwet County

18.Chesoi Primary school - Marakwet East, Elgeyo Marakwet County

19.Moi Girls Sec School - Marakwet West,, Elgeyo Marakwet County

20.Kabsabet Parade Ground, Nandi Central, Nandi County

21.Maraba - Tinderet, Nandi County

22.Eldama Ravine play ground - Koibatek, Baringo County

23.Mogotia P/Station Ground - Mogotio, Baringo County

24.Doldol T. Centre - Laikipia North, Laikipia County

25.DC's Office Bahati - Nakuru North, Nakuru County

26.Njoro Police Station - Njoro, Nakuru County

27.Narok Stadium - Narok North, Narok County

28.Ololulunga Baraza Park - Narok South, Narok County

29.Maasai Technical School - Kajiado Central, Kajiado County

30.DC's office - Mashuru, Kajiado County

31.Kipkelion Centre - Kipkelion, Kericho County

32.Bomet Centre - Bomet sub-county, Bomet County

33.DC's Office - Sotik, Bomet County

34.Isanjiro Pri. School - Kakamega North (Malava), Kakamega County

35.Kimilili Amtala Sports Centre - Kimilili, Bungoma County

36.Amagoro Primary School - Teso North, Busia County

Poll of the day