Skip to main content
Sunday, July 23, 2017

Bar 8 governors from election, say senators

Kisumu senator Anyang' Nyong'o./MONICAH MWANGI
Kisumu senator Anyang' Nyong'o./MONICAH MWANGI

Some senators want governors accused of funds misuse by a Senate watchdog committee barred from defending their seats.

They have asked the EACC and DPP to arrest and charge the eight governors immediately.

The governors are Daniel Waithaka (Nyandarua), Jack Ranguma (Kisumu), Moses Lenolkulal (Samburu), Okoth Obado (Migori), Patrick Khaemba (Trans Nzoia), Salim Mvurya (Kwale), Sospeter Ojaamong (Busia) and William Kabogo (Kiambu).

The Senate Public Accounts and Investments Committee recommended that they be charged for unaccounted for expenditure and misapplication of funds.

Presidential aspirant and Nyamira Senator OKong'o Mong'are, a member of the committee, said the governors have failed the integrity test.

Chairman Anyang' Nyong'o (Kisumu) said the committee had gathered watertight evidence to sustain cases against the eight.

Kiambu Senator Kimani Wamatangi said they were "already found culpable of theft of public funds [and] belong to Kamiti."

Kisii's Chris Obure and West Pokot's John Lonyangapuo asked why the governors are still walking scot-free.

The EACC, chaired by retired ACK Archbishop Eliud Wabukala is under pressure to enforce the leadership and integrity code to lock out aspirants with pending corruption cases out of the election.

Thank you for participating in discussions on The Star, Kenya. Note that:
  • Unwarranted personal abuse and defamatory statements will be deleted.
  • Strong personal criticism is acceptable if justified by facts and arguments.
  • Deviation from points of discussion may lead to deletion of comments.
Poll of the day